Au Pair life: day by day

Being an au pair is a great experience and I do highly recommend it, hoping that you get a family who is a right fit for you. But I have experienced a lot of frustrations and days where I get really pissed off.

Here are some things that are hard and frustrating about being an Au Pair:

– There are many days where I feel like a pack mule. For instance when I pick up the kids from school and they just throw their bags, jackets, and books at me without even a hello. That can be especially upsetting and can make you feel less than what you should be to them.

– When the kids have trash they will just shove it in my hand and walk away. I’m pretty sure if I ever did that to my Mom she would through it back at me and tell me to go throw it away myself. The kids also do this to their mother here so then it doesn’t make me feel like it’s just me, but it is still very rude.

– Somedays the kids can be just flat out mean. Especially the boy, who is 8 years old. For example yesterday he got home from basketball practice so I say Hey how was practice then he looks at me and sticks out his tongue and tells me to shut up (but in Spanish). In the beginning of my time here I was like ok whatever I won’t talk to you again, but lately the parents have been on my case about speaking English constantly and always talking with them. Well how am I supposed to talk with them if this horrible boy doesn’t respect me enough to look me in the eyes. So now I just keep bugging him and speaking English until the point where he will kick me under the table or some other outward act. It is extremely frustrating.

– Now I know sibling fighting is a thing, I have an older brother how could I forget, but these kids take it to a whole other level. I am not exaggerating when I say these two kids are angels when they are separate and when there parents are not around. It is so bizarre. When the boy is alone with me (this is rare) he will be calm and really try to practice English with me to the point where he doesn’t want to stop. If his sister is there though there is absolutely no hope. He is screaming, fighting, and yelling constantly just to get attention whatever way he can. The girl will provoke him every once and a while, which is to be expected but he is usually the problem when it comes to starting fights. I have never met a kid like him and it is really hard to try and control and teach him something when he wont listen to me.

– When I take away something from the kids, like the remote or a toy sometimes they will freak out and go run to their Mom to tell on me. It’s funny because every time the Mom or Father will say No Janel is right and you need to stop. I think this just shows how the kids don’t understand that I am not their peer, I am someone who has authority over them.

– Here is my biggest frustration: they don’t listen to me (when they are together). After being here for about two months I know how much time they should watch Tv and what they should be doing and what they shouldn’t. If I tell the boy no (in the calmest nicest way possible) he will freak out. Scream, yell, run away, and even hit me when I tell him no. It is absolutely absurd. Sometimes I have to physically drag him or take something away from him. Usually kids will give in after threatening them to take away something but not this boy. Oh heck no. And it isn’t just with me either, he is also like this with the parents.

And here is why this is so difficult especially for an Au pair: if my main job is to teach you English, how can I possibly do that if you can’t even be controlled?

I don’t know, I’m still figuring it out.

The girl is my life saver, she listens, she understands, and she respects me. Granted she does have her bad days, which is alright but she is a bright and intelligent girl. As for now I keep working with the boy day by day but I focus my attention on her because with her I can actually make some progress when it comes to speaking English. Becoming an Au Pair is truly a gamble when it comes to what kind of kids and family you get. It could always be worse and I have to keep remembering that.

IMG_1536.JPG

Leave a comment